Dean's Office

The Faculty of Arts is one of the first four foundation faculties of the University of Nigeria, Nsukka.  The university commenced academic activities in 1960 with six disciplines. Two of these - English and History – became the core departments of the Faculty of Arts when the institution in 1960 grouped its academic units into faculties.
The first dean of the faculty was a British, Dr. J. A. Noonan (later Professor Noonan).  He was succeeded as dean in 1965 by Professor M. A. Achufusi of the Department of History, the first Nigerian to head the faculty.  From two departments, the faculty has grown and now has nine departments and one institute.  For the details of dean's profile, click here.